Graduate Reflection: Martin shares a time to remember

By: Keira Martin

I can still remember getting the news that I had received the graduate assistant position at the ALIVE Center. All of my puzzle pieces were coming together, and I was starting to see the big picture. I was about to begin pursing my Master’s Degree in Student Affairs in Higher Education. I did not really know what to expect, but I was really excited about the new experience. Graduate school was going to be something new (and boy has it been).

I have to say that I am very thankful for the ALIVE Center. They have truly become a part of my family they have helped me grow professionally and personally.  The Center has allowed me the opportunity to be a mentor to students, although the Hill House was created to serve with the community residents. The Center allowed my student affairs background to shine.

With a passion for programming, the ALIVE Center granted me the liberty of creating a program, called Project L.I.F.E. (Leadership, Independence, Freedom and Empowerment). Through Project L.I.F.E., we coordinated a program partnering with the Academy at Eleventh Street, a local alterative school. I have been able to organize sessions, invite speakers, teach lessons, and mentor students each week.

Within the past two years, the ALIVE Center has sponsored and supported multiple professional development opportunities for me that not only allows me to bring new ideas back for the Center, but also to ensure that I will be a better student affairs professional. From “On Top On Tuesday” workshops that helped me with my public speaking to the deadlines that help me with time management. My overall experience at the ALIVE Center has been one to remember, and I truly appreciate the time that I have spent here.

 

Leave a Reply

