Graduate Reflection: Welcomed to the Community

By: Kamla Jones

When I started the Master of Public Administration program at WKU, I didn’t know what to expect.  I was new to the area, new to the campus, and starting a Master’s degree program.  What excited me was the idea of something new and the idea of growth. The Master of Public Administration program at WKU has met and exceeded all of my expectations. I could not be happier.  I enjoy the knowledge and experience my professors incorporate in our coursework and our program.  I also love being able to go to class and my professors know me by name.  Having that recognition with my professors makes the class enjoyable and welcoming.

Since starting in August, I have had the opportunity to learn more about campus and the Bowling Green community through my graduate assistantship with the WKU ALIVE Center for Community Partnerships and my internship with the City of Bowling Green’s Neighborhood and Community Services department.  Being in both of these positions have given me two different experiences. With my graduate assistant position, I get to work with The $100 Solution™ program.  This program promotes making a difference with $100.  What I love about the program is the difference that is being made on both the WKU campus and the Bowling Green community.  Working with the City of Bowling Green, has taught me about the network of resources and services that are offered to the community through the city government.  I am so glad for the experiences I have had at Western thus far.  Western has given me and continues to give me experiences that have allowed me to grow professionally and academically.  Despite coming to WKU with unknown expectations, attending Western Kentucky University has been the best choice for me!

This reflection is part of a series of reflections by WKU graduate students involved in community development work through the WKU ALIVE Center for Community Partnerships. 

 

Leave a Reply

